Key Information

Date: November 27, 2020

Theme: Engaging With Oceania

Submission Deadline: October 16, 2020

Registration Deadline: November 23, 2020

Points of Contact:

  • Maureen Benson-Rea, Annual Meeting Co-Host,
  • Simon Mowatt, Annual Meeting Co-Host,
  • Sara McGaughey, Chair of AIB Oceania,


We meet early online on Friday 27 November (approx. 8am AEST, which is UTC +10 hours) for the Research Symposium. This is a full day of insights from keynote speakers, interactive panel sessions and research paper presentations, with plenty of opportunity for interaction. Planned highlights include:

  • A Keynote address by Professor Becky Reuber (JIBS Area Editor) and Professor Sjoerd Beugelsdijk (JIBS Reviewing Editor)
  • ‘Meet the Editors’ roundtable discussion, with Profs Fang Lee Cooke (IJHRM & IBR), Vikas Kumar (JIM), Peter Liesch (JIBS), John Mezias & William Newburry (AIB Insights), Rudolf Sinkovics (cpoib & JWB)
  • Research paper presentations
  • A panel of Early Career Researchers sharing insights and tips about career choices & strategies for success
  • A panel exploring International Business within Oceania and linkages to other regions
  • The Annual General Meeting, including introduction of the incoming Board for 2021-2023

The Paper Development Workshop will be held asynchronously: mentors and authors will be matched as in previous years, but will then set up a time convenient to themselves to meet either online or face to face (e.g. if co-located). We envisage two mentors and two papers in each group, providing the opportunity for focussed feedback to help hone your papers for journal submission. Those who receive a R&R for the AIB Insights Special Issue on “Engaging with Oceania” ( will also be invited to participate in this Paper Development Workshop.

Keynote Speakers

Becky Reuber (PhD Queen’s University, Canada) is full Professor of Strategic Management at the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto, Canada. Becky’s research examines firm-level internationalization with an entrepreneurship lens. She co-founded ie-scholars, a community of international entrepreneurship researchers, leading the development of its teaching material. Becky is currently Area Editor for international entrepreneurship at the Journal of International Business Studies; serves on several editorial boards including Academy of Management Perspectives and Journal of Business Venturing; and has organized Paper Development Workshops for EIBA and the AIB-UKI and AIB-MENA chapters.

Sjoerd Beugelsdijk (PhD Tilburg University) is a full professor in International Business and director of research at the Faculty of Economics and Business of the University of Groningen in the Netherlands. He is an expert on economic globalization and cultural diversity. Sjoerd has received over 1 million euros in competitive research grants (Rubicon, Veni, Vidi) of the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research, and co-authored the 2019 government advisory board report on ‘Dutch national identity’. Sjoerd is the reviewing editor for the Journal of International Business Studies-JIBS (2016-2022). He served as a chairman of the committee selecting the 2020 JIBS decade award as well as a mentor of AIB and AoM junior faculty and doctoral consortia.

PDW Mentors

A/Prof Maureen Benson-Rea (U. Auckland)

Prof Lin Cui (ANU)

Dr Liang Chen (U. Melbourne)

A/Prof Alex Eapen (ANU)

Prof Susan Freeman (U. South Australia)

Prof Vikas Kumar (U. Sydney)

Prof Peter Liesch (U. Queensland)

Prof Sara McGaughey (Griffith U.)

A/Prof John Mezias (U. Miami)

Prof Snejina Michailova (U. Auckland)

Prof Bill Newburry (FIU)

Prof Bo Nielsen (U. Sydney)

Dr Matt Raskovic (Victoria U. of Wellington)

Prof Becky Reuber (U. Toronto)

Prof Elisabeth Rose (U. Leeds)

A/Prof Joanna Scott-Kennel (U.Waikato)

Dr Noemi Sinkovics (U. Auckland)

Prof Rudolf Sinkovics (U. Aukland)

Dr Gracy Yang (U. Sydney)

Dr Tom Osegowitsch (U. Melbourne)

Local (online) Hosts and Sponsors